

## Special Board Meeting 04/02/2025 - 02:50 PM

East Marshall High School - Band Room 201 North Franklin LeGrand, Iowa 50142

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

## **East Marshall Community School District**

204 West Center Street
P.O. Box 159
Gilman, Iowa 50106
Ph. (641) 498-7481/Fax (641) 498-2035
Anthony Ryan, Superintendent
tryan@e-marshall.k12.ia.us

Matt Rasmusson Kim Tarbell Mark Albertsen Allison Frost High School Princ. M.S. Princ. Elementary Princ. Business Manager (641) 479-2785 (641) 498-7483 (641) 476-3342 (641) 498-7481

#### **TENTATIVE AGENDA**

#### **SPECIAL BOARD MEETING**

You are hereby notified that the Board of Education of the East Marshall Community School District

will conduct a Special Board Meeting at the East Marshall High School(Band Room) in LeGrand, Iowa on Wednesday, April 2nd, 2025 at 2:50pm. At the meeting, the tentative agenda will be as follows:

The tentative agenda will follow School Board Policy 210.05. As defined in Board Policy 210.05, additions, adjustments, and updates may occur to the posted agenda up to 24 hours prior to the posted date and time of the board meeting.

#### Attendees

#### **Voting Members**

Lisa Meling, Board President Megan Ruopp, Board Vice President Andrea Terrones, Board Member Elizabeth Crandon, Board Member AnnDee Bloom, Board Member

#### **Non-Voting Members**

Anthony Ryan, Superintendent Allison Frost, Business Manager

#### 1. Call Meeting to Order and Approve Agenda

Motion made by: Andrea Terrones Motion seconded by: Megan Ruopp

Voting:

Lisa Meling - Yes Megan Ruopp - Yes Andrea Terrones - Yes Elizabeth Crandon - Yes AnnDee Bloom - Yes

#### 2. Greet visitors

No visitors in attendance.

3. Closed Session pursuant to Iowa Code, Section 21.5(1)(a) to review or discuss records which are required or authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential and Section 21.5 (1)(i) to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session.

3:00 pm: Motion by Ruopp to go into Closed Session with a second by Crandon. All in favor. Roll Call to go into Closed Session: Ruopp-Aye; Crandon-Aye; Meling-Aye; Terrones-Aye; Crandon-Aye; Bloom-Aye. All in favor. Frost also present for Closed Session Closed Session pursuant to Iowa Code, Section 21.5(1)(a) to review or discuss records which are required or authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential and Section 21.5(1)(i) to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session.

The board came out of Closed Session at 8:41pm

Motion made by: Megan Ruopp

Motion seconded by: Elizabeth Crandon

Voting:

Lisa Meling - Yes Megan Ruopp - Yes Andrea Terrones - Yes Elizabeth Crandon - Yes AnnDee Bloom - Yes

4. Approval of Authorizing Grundmeyer Leadership Search Firm to Make a Contract Offer to the Preferred Candidate.

8:42 pm Motion by Ruopp to approve the authorization for Grundmeyer Leader Services to make a contract offer to the preferred candidate; second by Terrones. All in favor.

Motion made by: Megan Ruopp

Motion seconded by: Andrea Terrones

Voting:
Lisa Meling - Yes
Megan Ruopp - Yes
Andrea Terrones - Yes
Elizabeth Crandon - Yes
AnnDee Bloom - Yes

## 5. Approval of 2025-2026 Tentative Negotiations Agreement with EMEA.

Motion by Crandon to approve the 2025-2026 Tentative Negotiations Agreement with EMEA, as presented, adding \$903 to the base wage after aging the salary schedule; second by Terrones. All in favor.

It should be noted that the EMEA agreement for the TSS payout was as follows: Any HF2612 TSS money left over after moving employees to the required \$50,000 and \$62,000 will be divided evenly among the remaining TSS employees who did not receive any funds to increase to the \$50,000 or \$62,000.

Motion made by: Elizabeth Crandon Motion seconded by: Andrea Terrones Voting: Lisa Meling - Yes Megan Ruopp - Yes Andrea Terrones - Yes Elizabeth Crandon - Yes

AnnDee Bloom - Yes

# 6. Approval of 2025-2026 Certified and Non-certified Personnel Recommendations (Contract Renewals).

Motion by Terrones to approve the 2025-2026 Certified and Non-Certified Personnel Recommendations (Contract Renewals), as presented; second by Bloom. All in favor. Meling requested the district office to use her signature stamp for the contracts.

Motion made by: Andrea Terrones
Motion seconded by: AnnDee Bloom
Voting:
Lisa Meling - Yes
Megan Ruopp - Yes
Andrea Terrones - Yes
Elizabeth Crandon - Yes
AnnDee Bloom - Yes

## 7. Approval of Retention Payments for Returning Staff.

It is recommended to pay retention payments that mirror the amounts that were used for the 2024-2025 school year. The recommendation includes creating a Flex Fund at the April 21st school board meeting and transferring eligible categorical funds to the Flex Fund to cover the retention payment expenses. Motion by Ruopp and second by Crandon to approve the Retention Payments for returning staff. All in favor.

Motion made by: Megan Ruopp

Motion seconded by: Elizabeth Crandon

Voting:

Lisa Meling - Yes Megan Ruopp - Yes Andrea Terrones - Yes Elizabeth Crandon - Yes AnnDee Bloom - Yes

## 8. Adjourn

Motion by Crandon and second by Ruopp to Adjourn the meeting at 9:15pm. All in favor.

Motion made by: Elizabeth Crandon Motion seconded by: Megan Ruopp

Voting:

Lisa Meling - Yes Megan Ruopp - Yes Andrea Terrones - Yes Elizabeth Crandon - Yes AnnDee Bloom - Yes