Our District

The East Marshall Community School District
instills a passion for learning to INSPIRE
and to PREPARE students to ACHIEVE.

The East Marshall Community School District is committed to its mission of instilling a passion for learning, to inspire, and to prepare students to achieve. This commitment is achieved by our dedicated and outstanding teachers and staff who serve over 900 students throughout three schools (Preschool through 12th grade). We firmly believe that our values, goals, and overall mission will produce well-rounded, productive future leaders. 

The East Marshall School District is located in central-eastern Iowa and includes the Marshall County communities of LeGrand, Gilman, Laurel, Ferguson, Quarry, Dillon, and Dunbar. The district is located in a position where students from four different counties of Iowa attend the same school - those counties being Marshall, Jasper, Tama, and Poweshiek.

- East Marshall Elementary School:  Pre-K through 3rd Grade- Laurel, Iowa
- East Marshall Middle School:  4th through 8th Grade - Gilman, Iowa
- East Marshall High School:  9th through 12th Grade- LeGrand, Iowa
- East Marshall District Office:  Gilman, Iowa



Parents’/Guardians’ Rights Notification
Parents/Guardians in the East Marshall Community School District have the right to learn about the following qualifications of their child’s teacher: state licensure requirements for the grade level and content areas taught, the current licensing status of your child’s teacher, and baccalaureate/graduate certification/degree. You may also request the qualifications of an instructional paraprofessional who serves your student in a Title I program or if your school operates a school-wide Title I program.

Parents/Guardians may request this information from the Office of the Superintendent by calling 641-498-7481 or sending a letter of request to the Office of the Superintendent, 204 West Center Street, Gilman, IA 50106.